Bangkok Travel log 2012 (Introduction)

22 Jan

Hi there!

Recently finished my Taiwan blog posts, so now it’s time for my Bangkok Travel log! I travelled to Bangkok during the period of 25th August 2012 till 29th August 2012.
The first post on Bangkok, as what I usually will do, is an introduction of Bangkok’s culture, language, transport;  basically some basic information which you should know when travelling to Bangkok.

Weather in Bangkok
The weather in Thailand in general is similar to Singapore.

People in Bangkok
The people in Bangkok are generally friendly and nice. However, during this trip, I did met some ‘not so nice’ people which I’ll probably elaborate more in my later posts.

Mobile card in Bangkok
You can purchase mobile card right in the airport itself. We did not buy any cause we didn’t see the need for it and plus I have roaming services so I could use it if really necessary. But to what I remember I think a sim card costs around 299baht.

Transport in Bangkok
There are several ways you can travel around in Bangkok. It includes Bangkok airway link where it links from the airport to the different areas. There’s also BTS skytrain (similar to MRT) and MRT that covers the city of Bangkok. The more popular ones are probably Tuk Tuk and Taxis. However, taking a taxi or a tuk tuk during the peak period may delay your journey as the jam is really bad in Bangkok therefore even if the price of taking the MRT of cab is pretty much the same. Another challenge would be your bargaining skills with the drivers. Other than those mentioned, there’s also motorcycle taxis and buses which I did not took during my trip.

To find out more, here’s where I got my information from prior to my trip: http://www.bangkok.com/information-travel-around/
During my travel log, I’ll also explain to you guys more of my own experience, so yup till then! 🙂

Language in Bangkok
The primary language in Thailand is Thai. But generally in Bangkok, most of the places, taxi driver etc do speak some basic conversational english. Personally, I feel that it’s good to know and be able to speak a couple of basic Thai phrases with the locals.

And that’s a very basic introduction to my travel log. I’ll update more on the details along the way.
love,
Raine.

Leave a Reply

Got The Postcard

Travel & Lifestyle Blog

The Pursuit of What Matters Most

Catharsis. Clarity. Courage. Compassion.

WHO TOLD YOU THAT?

"Don't be a hard rock when you really are a gem."

The Duo Voyage of Genecia & Raine

The adventures of two individuals who love to travel

Diane Leow

Journalist. Storyteller. Coffee drinker.

acaffeinatedbrunette.com/

Manhattan girl with a love for travel and food

What an Amazing World!

Seeing, feeling and exploring places and cultures of the world

altrunomics

altruism meets economics

Vie Quotidienne

Mindful Living Day to Day

